Hey blogosphere! So my New Years resolution was to get a job. Yeah, I know I just posted about how I do construction, but I needed a more consistent income. So… a few weeks ago I requested prayer at church for a job. The next day, my wife noticed a post from my favorite coffee shop that they were still hiring for one more full-time position. I immediately sent in my resume, and then went in the next day just to stock up on beans because I was getting perilously low. The owner just happened to be behind the bar and  told me he got my resume and said we would have an interview after the holidays. Last Friday we had our interview and I was hired on the spot to start Monday! YES!  I’ll be learning to be a Barista and also putting my construction skills to good use in renovating the cafe. I just finished my first day and am pumped to be a part of such a great and successful team of people.

As part of my training at the hands of a bona-fide national champion, I pulled my first shot of espresso today and made my very first latte (see below.) It was fun, learning the particulars of the process, from tamping the grounds, to pouring the art on top. Judging from my first day, I think I’ll like the coffee business just fine.

http://www.cafekubal.com/

Leave a Reply

