DIY chimney repair

Posted: August 29, 2009 in Home, home improvement, Money/ wealth, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

So we need to get our roof done soon. The previous owner bought the house in 1983 and never put a roof on it. Rather than wait until our cielings cave in on us, we want to do some preventative maintenance. What does this have to do with chimneys you ask? Well, most of the roofing companies we got quotes from said that we need to have our chimney repaired before they would do the roof. One offered to do it for $600. I said I could probably do it myself for just a bit less than that. How about $30. Yeah, that’s right. $6 for some mortar, $24 for two ceramic flue liners, and a bunch of free, trash-picked bricks.

I borrowed some books on it and got to work. First I had to chip out all the old mortar and clean up/ remove the loose bricks around the top. Then I removed the old broken flue liners. Whoever repaired it the last time put the larger one in crooked so that the small one that serviced the furnace and hot water heater only fit when they broke one of the sides off. Then it was just a simple matter of carrying all my supplies out of our bedroom window and up to the chimney. Being a rock climber, I’m used to heights, so I didn’t tie off or anything. I was comfortable with that but you may not be. It was my first time working with bricks and mortar, so there was a learning curve. It’s not real pretty, but it will do the job. Here are some before and after shots:

IMG_2322IMG_2327

IMG_2323IMG_2326

Comments
  1. John says:

    Pretty darn good for a DIYer!

  2. alpinmack says:

    Thanks! I haven’t worked with any more bricks, but I’ve done cinder blocks and a ton (or tons, depending on how you look at it) of concrete. I think my technique has improved.

Leave a Reply

