New home-made shelves

Posted: April 18, 2009 in Home, home improvement
Tags: , , , ,

I found a nice piece of cherry crown molding at the Re-Store, which is run by Habitat for Humanity. They salvage any useful architectural pieces from all the houses that get torn down. So I thought that with a few 45* cuts, they would make some nice shelves. I was right. Although I could have used smaller screws on top. Oh well. And using maple for the cleats inside was a big mistake too. Because maple is so hard, it is hard to work with. You have to pre-drill everything and even then the screws stick and the heads gets stripped. But they came out nice in the end. For $5, I’m happy.

Update: Wow. I was surprised to find out that this post is in the top FIVE results on Google for “home made shelves.” So that’s why I see so much traffic here but nothing about people searching for shelves on WordPress. Well, I hope this was worth the visit. If you have any questions, please let me know. I am far from a master carpenter, but I might be able to help.

img_1811

Comments
  1. griz says:

    Very nice! I’m trying to do the same in my apartment. Wish there was a Re-Store in NYC. I’m not quite sure where else to look (aside from the streets) as the thrift stores here are too high end for my taste. Great job.

  2. alpinmack says:

    Thank you. It was a learning process to be sure. You never know what you might find at the side of the road. If you search for salvaged architectural places they might have some trim you could use. Or I’m sure they have something just like it at Target or Walmart, but why take the easy way out? I enjoy them more because I made them.

Leave a Reply

