The Compact…a month in

Posted: January 26, 2009 in Books, Family, Home, home improvement, Money/ wealth
Tags: , ,

Well, after a  month of doing the Compact (that is, not buying anything new) we have been doing pretty well. I did buy two new albums on i-tunes, but since they are electronic files and not actual plastic CDs, and the whole point of this is to reduce materialism, I think that can be forgiven. They’re not taking up any space in my house besides hard drive space. My wife and I have both been tempted by things, but so far, have resisted. I bought some hardware at the Re-Store which is a reclaimed architectural salvage place run by Habitat for Humanity. But this is ok for two reasons: 1) it’s used, and 2) it was for a baby gate, which would fall under one of the exception categories, ie: safety.

I really wanted to buy a book by an author I like that had just come out and I was pretty bummed I would have to wait to read it. But I asked at the library anyway. It had only come out three weeks prior to that so I didn’t have my hopes up. When the librarian looked it up, she said, “Oh, we have four copies.” Oh yay. I asked to be put on the list immediatley and a week later, I had the book in my hands. This has definitley helped our bank account too. Hopefully, we’ll keep it up.

Leave a Reply

