look what I trash-picked last night

Posted: January 15, 2009 in environment, Family, Food, Home, home improvement, Money/ wealth
Tags: , , ,

img_1665

Ever since my wife ripped out the old cabinets that were in our kitchen, we’ve been looking for something suitable to go in it’s place. We made do with a bookshelf and and small cart, but now we have this. I harvested it off the curb on a sled and it only needed minor repairs to drawers. As my uncle’s friend would say, “If it’s free, I need it.” Well, we did need it. This is definitely helping us save money while our baby is still young. I encouraged everyone to keep an eye out on trash night. Don’t think it’s beneath you to grab something off the curb. Maybe there’s only a few small things wrong with it like this piece, that you can fix that someone else didn’t want to bother with. This is recycling at its best. The Earth wins, your house wins, and your wallet wins. Thank you Emily, for throwing out your dresser. It has a new home in our kitchen.

I also found this a few months ago…from the same house!

img_1671

Comments
  1. Daniel Sauve says:

    Nice find! I’m definitely not above some good ol’ trash picking. Especially from someone who throws away such nice stuff.

  2. alpinmack says:

    Thanks Dan. I also got a nice wooden baby gate too. One of those long ones. I went down to the Habitat for Humanity Re-Store and picked up some hardware to install it. Total cost: 11 cents.

Leave a Reply

