My wahhabite jambiya

Posted: January 13, 2009 in design, foreign policy, Sword, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

My mom got me this impressive jambiya for Christmas this year. She got it from her friend’s father who is dead but had lived in Saudi Arabia for a while.
img_1664

From my research online, it is the Wahhabite style which is from the Western regions of Arabia, Hijaz, and Asir. The Wahhabite form of Islam is particularly violent towards infidels and even many other branches of Islam like Sunni and Shi’a, as you can see by their longer blades. “Normal” jambiyas usually have five to eight inch long blades, not eighteen.

img_1661

img_1663The craftsmanship is beautiful on this piece. The blade is super sharp all the way to the hilt which is uncommon in my experience with swords and daggers. I think the coolest part about this knife is that it has history. You can tell that it’s been worn, a lot. Someone wore this everyday. I wonder if those stains on the blade are from blood? Another nice perk is that all of the Wahhabite Jambiyas I’ve seen online are quite expensive. From $450 – $1200, not that I want to sell it.

Leave a Reply

