Thinking about joining “The Compact.”

Posted: December 30, 2008 in environment, Family
Tags: , , , , ,

So my wife and I are thinking about joining “The Compact.” When I told my parents, they asked if that it was some kind of cult.  I explained that it’s just a group of people who agree to not buy anything new for a whole year. Food excluded of course. My Mom said “Oh, well that was the first few years of our marriage anyway.” I think it wouldn’t be too much of a stretch for us. We rarely buy lots of things anyway. We’re not big Mall shoppers. I like to pick up the occasional CD but the only difference is that I would have to find it used. That’s no problem. I just got three used PS2 games for myself as a birthday present and I like them just fine. Who cares if they’re a few years old. One was $2.99. Can’t beat that. Unless it’s free. Yes we’re joining Freecycle as well. The site that facilitates giving things away to people who want what you don’t anymore.

The whole idea of this is to be less of a consumer. Less materialistic, if you will. Let’s see if we can stick with it for a whole year. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

