Inspired to build wealth

Posted: December 30, 2008 in Books, Christian, Money/ wealth
Tags: , ,

I just finished reading a book called, “Rich dad, Poor dad.” This is the forth or fifth book on becoming wealthy I have read. Each one has a different take on what to do and how to do it. I’m not sure why, but this one affected me more than some of the others. And before you say, “But Dan, you’re Christian right? Money is evil. You shouldn’t be trying to make money.”  This is a passage by Russell H. Cornwell in his book Acres of Diamonds.

“We preach covetousness in the pulpit and use the term filthy lucre so extremely that Christians get the idea that it is wicked for any man to have money. Money is power, and you ought to be reasonably ambitious to have it. You ought to because you can do more good with it than without it. Money prints your bible; money builds your churches; money sends out your missionaries; and money pays for your ministers. If you can honestly obtain…riches, it is your Godly duty to do so. It is an awful mistake of these pious people to think that you must be awfully poor to be pious.”

So yeah, I want to make money. I don’t want to work for someone else my entire life. I want to be able to travel and take time to climb some mountains and play outside without having to worry about how I’m going to pay for food or my next mortgage payment. But all that still takes work. I need to read and study a lot more before I make any big moves. I’d like to get into real estate and the stock market. Each one is vastly complicated so I know I need to be smart about it. Maybe I’ll hire some professionals. You’ve got to spend some money to make money right? We’ll see how it all works out. I’ll keep you posted.

Comments
  1. Tom Humes says:

    Nice Site layout for your blog. I am looking forward to reading more from you.

    Tom Humes

Leave a Reply

