Writing update

Posted: September 10, 2008 in Books
Tags: , , , , ,

I have been working on short stories for a creative writing class. Boy it is hard! I have three viable options but I think at least two of them could be expanded to novella or even novel length. Planning out the plot is okay but coming up with characters is difficult. How do you do it?

I asked my Prof what he thinks. This is what he said: “Read them over carefully, and like all of them. I’d prefer the second one, but that’s less that I think it’s better than the others than that I love ‘near-future’ scifi. Go with your gut.”

 

What’s that supposed to mean! Which one is the best or has the best potential. What format should it be? Arghh. Ambiguous feedback is sometimes worse than no feedback.

Comments
  1. karadouglas says:

    Keep writing and never give up.

    I write short stories and poetry. Currently working on a collection of short stories and poetry surrounding broken souls….broken flowers

    ck out my site if you wish

    http://karadouglas.wordpress.com/

  2. drcorner says:

    Probably means he’s to chicken to pick one so he gave you the usual “on the fence” answer. 😆

  3. alpinmack says:

    Thanks Kara and DR. I went with the second one anyway, because I was most excited to write about that one. The third story has so much stuff, I could easily make that novel length and I didn’t want to force myself to write a novel in three months. I like your poetry Kara, keep it up! Most of my poetry was angry girl-trouble stuff in my teens. Some of it was good though. I actually remember getting an award for it in sixth grade. I wonder where that went?

Leave a Reply

