help with writing project

Posted: September 3, 2008 in Books
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hey Blogoshpere! I am taking a creative writing/ fiction class and I need to decide what type of project to do for the semester. Any ideas? It could be a series of short stories, a novella, a play, a screenplay, a graphic novel, etc. What do you think? Topics?

Here is what I am thinking so far: a series of short stories. Maybe 4 or 5, two long 3 shorter. All set in the same universe. With a sci-fi setting, maybe following the history of Earth in 50 or 100 year increments moving into the future. Maybe the settling of Mars, conflicts for resources in the outer planets, conact with evidence of aliens , colonists arriving at the nearest earth-like planet in a few hundred years and adapting to the strange alien life they find there, inter-species warfare, espionage, a political ambassador story gone wrong, maybe throw in some cyberpunk elements with grand space opera and add a dash of hard science.

Comments
  1. drcorner says:

    What’s funny is that since I updated my About page, I finally got the determination to start my Novel. It’s also set in the SciFi Genre…

    Good luck with your assignment, you’ll do great. I remember when I was back in High School and took Creative Writing.

    I did one short story, and at the time I didn’t give much thought to it, but now that short story’s basis (I no longer have the physical copy), will be the seeds to my novel(s).

Leave a Reply

