Up from 3:29 – 4:47 am

Posted: August 28, 2008 in baby, Parenting
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I just thought I’d say, yeahhhh. New parents have it tough, and new Mom’s really have it rough. Andrew has gas or something and refused to go down again after nursing so I shushed him back to sleep and rolled back into bed. 45 seconds later he is stirring again. It’s hard to sooth a baby when I am missing key tools like breasts. Anyway, Lydia finally had to get him down.

One tip for putting babies down the first time. If he is almost asleep after nursing, I pick him up and move him quickly to the crip. If he starts to fuss and try to rub his eyes, I just gently hold his arms down against the mattress. He likes to sleep with his arms up in the “I surrender” pose. I don’t even grab them but just cup my hand over them so that he can’t lift them and touch his face. After a few seconds of squirming, he gives up and falls asleep.

Comments
  1. Fleet of Worlds says:

    Have to say, as the father of a 5 month old, the lack of “Feeding equipment” is a real issue – the look of contempt my younger daughter gives me when she realises I haven’t got the refuelling kit her Mum does is a wonder to behold!

Leave a Reply

