What is on your nightstand?

Posted: August 27, 2008 in Books, environment
Tags: , , , , ,

I saw this somewhere else and thought it was a cool  idea so here is my answer.

Right now, there is: my watch, some massage oil, and a few books. Galactic North by Alaistair Reynolds is a book of shorts stories and novellas set in his Revalation Space universe. Great sci-fi. I enjoy pretty much every book I’ve read by this Welsh author. The other cool thing about him is that he is a real astrophysicist so he knows what he’s talking about. I am also reading “The Consumer’s guide to effective environmental choices” by Michael brower & Warren Leon. They explain why some decisions are weightier than others. Pretty good so far. And, I know, three at a time. I’m also reading “The Four Hour Work Week.” by Timothy Ferriss. How to escape the 9-5, live anywhere, and join the New Rich. I don’t know about that but it does have some good tips on improving your efficiency at work and how to come up with, and bring a product to market.

What’s on your nightstand?

Comments
  1. kathi says:

    Hey! Didja get this from me? I wish more people would comment; I think it says a lot about a person.
    My nightstand has a clock/radio/CD with a soft, soothing CD in it that I listen to when I’m trying to turn off my brain to sleep (it works!).
    I also have a large stack of magazines that includes Oprah, Runner’s World, Prevention, Midwest Living, etc. and a couple of books.
    Books? A Wm.Faulkner book that is hard to get through, so I’ve been reading it for about 6 weeks! Also, an interesting book that compares animal behaviors to autistic children (written by Temple Grandin, an autistic author, its very, very though-provoking and helps you to understand both why your autistic child does what he/she does, and also why your dog may do what he/she does) “Animals in Translation: Using the Mysteries of Autism to Decode Animal Behavior”, and Jean Chatsky’s book “Make Money, Not Excuses”…as yet unread 🙂
    Oh, and I also have lots of dustballs, as I have 3 shedding dogs and little time to dust!

  2. alpinmack says:

    I don’t remember where I got it from but it is a cool idea. Those sound like interesting books. I am just about to start classes again so I imagine my reading time will drop off dramatically. Either that, or the quality of my schoolwork will.

Leave a Reply

