I went golfing for work yesterday

Posted: August 19, 2008 in Sports
Tags:

Yes, it’s true. I got a call around 11:45 that the forth person on a team representing the Mission couldn’t make it at the last minute so someone thought to call me. The conversation went like this:

“Hey Dan do you golf?”

“No. I have golfed, but I wouldn’t say that I do golf. I’m actually pretty terrible.”

“That’s great. Do you want to play in a tournament today?”

“Um, didn’t you just hear me say how bad I am?”

“Yeah, but we need a fourth guy and you’re available. So can you come?”

“Yeah, when do we leave?”

“Right now.”

And so it went. I didn’t have lunch but I actually made enough good drives and putts that it was worth it. I might even fool myself into thinking that I’m actually good enough to buy a set of clubs. We did play “best ball” though which was good. Basically, all four people hit their own ball and then you pick whoever shot the best and play from there.

It was for a good cause too. The Samaritan Center in Syracuse feeds the homeless and I think we raised more than $10,000.

Leave a Reply

