Having a 401(k). Is it really important?

Posted: August 14, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

YES. If you do not have one, get one. Saving for retirement is important and even though the market may seem bad now, in the long run, it is always a good bet.

On a personal note, I just met with my adviser from the Principal and he said I was an “Ideal” participant. I started young (around 19 or 20) and am putting away 10% of my income. My employer also contributes 7.5% which is amazing for a nonprofit. If I just keep going how I am, by the time I’m 67, I will have $ 1.7 million dollars tucked away. Not bad. If I up my contribution to 15%, it will be over $3 million! Yeah baby!

So my point is, start a 401 (K) and contribute to it. Shoot for 10% but anything is good. Over time, you might become a millionaire.

Leave a Reply

