Books and other interests

Posted: August 14, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

This was a post from11/20/06

The Happy couple

The Happy couple

Hey guys,
Well it’s been a little more than 3 months since my wedding. It went great. Weather was perfect. My bride was beautiful. Our honeymoon was pretty cool. We went up to Canadia and down through Maine and then back up to PEI. Beautiful. I definitely took way too many pictures. We swung back through Acadia which was also great except for their No Frisbee Playing ordinance in Ba Ha Ba. We jumped right back into life when we got back and Lydia got hired the day we returned! Yaa! Our home is finally getting in order and we have had a few awesome parties so far with International Talk Like A Pirate Day on Sept. 19th and our Masquerade Extravaganza just before Halloween. I was a ninja, of course!

Anyway I thought I would just update my current interests. I just finished reading a few good books.

“The Automatic Millionaire” by David Bach is all about setting up your accounts and things so that you accumulate wealth…automatically! Basically set up a 401 k early and contribute at least 10 % of your income for as long as you can. Second, buy a house, don’t rent. You will never get rich renting. Also don’t use credit cards. That’s about it.

“Overthrow” by Stephen Kinzer is about America’s century of regime change from Hawaii to Iraq. This book was pretty cool. It’s kind of like a secret version of history that you don’t learn in school. Now I know why South America doesn’t like us. Or the Philipines. Or IRAN! We started it!

“Neuromancer” by William Gibson is like the father of all cyberpunk novels. A cool trip for today even though it was written quite a while ago in current sci-fi terms.

“The Dance of Molecules” by Ted Sargent is all about the current and future of Nanotechnology. A really cool book that gives you hope of what humanity can and will accomplish in the future fields of medicine, the environment, and communication. Very interesting but sometimes very technical and slow.

“Against a Dark Background” by Iain M. Banks is another one of his sprawling space sagas although this doesn’t take place in the universe of “The Culture.” Still a very cool book with lots of varied landscapes and worlds. I love anything by this author. Strangely enough though, I really don’t like his regular fiction he writes under Iain Banks. No M.

In the world of Video Games, I just finished “Legend of Kay” for the PS2 This is a pretty chill game about a young cat warrior who has to fight rats and gorillas to free his peaceful land. Some of the moves are cool and the voice acting isn’t bad but the camera is really annoying. There are times where you can’t see where you are jumping to or it will get stuck behind trees. There is no 1st person view. This game is also a little young for my taste. My buddy let me borrow it and he likes a lot of Nintendo games. That should explain it. His world blew open when I let him borrow “God of War.”

After Kay, I needed something a bit darker and bloodier. So I picked up “Prince of Persia: Warrior Within” Now I know, the 1st one was great and I heard the 2nd one, not so great. I would agree, but only in tone. The music is modern and detracts from the experience whereas in the 1st and 3rd games it is more authentic Persian. Also the Prince is really moody and bad tempered all the time, an unwelcome change from his good mannered innocence in the 1st game “Sands of Time.” However the game mechanics and free form fighting is way better than the original and the environments and boss battles are great. I’m a little more than half-way through. So even though there are some negatives, the story and the levels, puzzles, and enemies you have to wade through were enough to keep playing. I’ve played half-way through the 3rd one “The Two Thrones” and that’s what made me want to go back and play through the first 2 storylines. I think “Lego Star Wars 2” is next on my list.

One last obsession, LOST. Oh man, this season hit me hard. I usually talk about it with my wife and people at work but then I discovered all the forums online and the LOST Experience game from this summer. Not to mention the Podcasts. All the theories and mysteries. Pretty cool. I’m sure there will be more on this later.

Anyway, that’s it for me today so until next time I will say farewell and Namaste.

Dan

Leave a Reply

